RSS

Jonny Evans out to become Manchester United’s main man

01 Aug

Manchester United's Jonny Evans, centre, has been part of Louis van Gaal's three centre-back system

Jonny Evans believes this is a “big time” in his career to fill the void left by Rio Ferdinand and Nemanja Vidic, and to become Manchester United’s senior central defender.

The 26-year-old’s debut came in September 2007, since when he has made 111 Premier League appearances for the club. Under David Moyes last season Evans appeared to have become first choice and the Northern Irishman is keen to be regarded as the No1 defender in Louis van Gaal’s eyes, too.

He said: “If you look at Nemanja Vidic, he did not join us until he was 25 or 26. I think I have benefited playing with Rio and Nemanja for a long time, and Wes Brown before that, and learning a lot through my career. It is a big time in my career now.

“I had an injury [last] pre-season and missed maybe the first month of the season but once I got in, and played, I got on a pretty good run. I think the other players around me had picked up one or two niggles as well. That was the strongest period and I felt really good, even though the results weren’t coming. I wasn’t playing the way that I wanted to play in the team, in terms of getting results, but I felt good physically. Then I picked up an injury. I picked it up in November but I managed to get through to February.”

If you want to search for Jonny Evans football shirts, please click here www.mbalchsharesjuiceplus.com

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment